Close X

(206) 467-2607

Theft & Fraud

Stolen Property

Theft-stolen-proprerty

Stolen Property Info:

Washington Stolen Property Crimes

Possession of stolen property is also a Washington crime. The laws governing Washington possession of stolen property crimes can be found in the Revised Code of Washington at RCW 9A.56.

In Washington possession of stolen property means to "receive, retain,  possess, conceal, or dispose of stolen property knowing that it has been  stolen."  RCW 9A.56.140(1).

The  fact that the person who stole the property has not been convicted,  apprehended or identified is not a defense to the Washington crime of  possessing stolen property.

Possession of Stolen Property crimes in Washington are divided into the following categories:

  • Possessing Stolen Property in the 1st Degree (9A.56.150): A person commits Possession of Stolen Property in the 1st Degree by possessing stolen property that exceeds $5,000 in value.

    Possessing Stolen Property in the 1st Degree is a Class B Felony  punishable by a maximum of 10 years in jail and a $20,000 fine.  Actual  penalties for a Washington theft crime, however, are determined by the  Sentencing Reform Act, RCW 9.94A and the Washington State Sentencing Guidelines.

  • Possessing Stolen Property in the 2nd Degree (9A.56.160):
    A person commits Possession of Stolen Property in the 2nd Degree when:   
    (a) He or she possesses stolen property, other than a firearm as defined in RCW  9.41.010 or a motor vehicle, which exceeds seven hundred fifty dollars in value but does not exceed five thousand dollars in value; or

    (b) He or she possesses a stolen public record, writing or instrument kept, filed, or deposited according to law; or

    (c) He or she possesses a stolen access device.

    Possessing Stolen Property in the 2nd Degree is a Class C Felony  punishable by a maximum of 5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.  Actual  penalties for a Washington theft crime, however, are determined by the  Sentencing Reform Act, RCW 9.94A and the Washington State Sentencing Guidelines.

  • Possessing Stolen Property in the 3rd Degree (9A.56.170):
    A person commits the crime of Possession of Stolen Property in the 3rd  Degree by possessing stolen property with a value less than $750.

    Possession of Stolen Property in the 3rd Degree is a Gross Misdemeanor  and punishable by a maximum of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine.  RCW 9.92.020.

Go to Top